Sunday Dinner

Inspiration was sparked early this morning. When snowboarding plans got nixed, I started brainstorming…

Tony Bourdain’s, No Reservations, 3 part series in India got the spiciness flowin’, literally. While he toured the states of Mumbai, Kolkata, and Rajasthan, I started touring my kitchen to see what I could pull together. 
I knew I wanted to make a bell pepper slaw to top some sort of fish, but what type of fish? What spices would I use? How could the influence of sexy, spicy, India come across in a fish dish?

From what I could gather from my kitchen, I began with lemons, fresh ginger, garlic, soy sauce, and peanut oil. Then I was off to Whole Foods to pick out my fish and the components I needed for my bell pepper slaw. 

(super easy!)
For the slaw:
1/2  Red pepper, julienned
1/2  Yellow pepper, julienned
1/2  Green pepper, julienned
1/2 Red onion, thinly sliced (rings cut in half)
1/4 cup olive oil
2 tbsp Lemon juice
S & P to taste
Toss in a large bowl and set aside to soften and marinate in the fridge.

For my fish dish, I decided to peruse one of my many cookbooks. (As a side note, when I get a new cookbook I will sit for hours with office tabs, the kind that read- sign here, and mark any page I know I want to make in the future).  With the flip of a few tabs in Ina Garten’s-Back to Basics, I came across just what I was looking for, Indonesian Grilled Swordfish.  Perfect!

Since Indonesia is made up of thousands of islands, fish is one of their main sources of protein, and often the main ingredient in many of their dishes.  Influenced by Chinese and Indian cuisine, this might be the perfect marriage of flavor for Sunday dinner and just what my palate is looking for today.

Ina’s Marinade (converted to serve 2)
1/4 cup soy sauce
1 tbsp peanut oil
1 tbsp lemon zest
2 tbsp lemon juice
2 tbsp fresh minced ginger
1 tbsp minced garlic
2 tsp Dijon mustard
1 lb of 1″ thick swordfish.
Mix all ingredients in a large bowl and marinate in a shallow dish for 6 + hours. Flip the fish occasionally.

On a med-hot grill, sear each side for about 3 minutes. Let it sit for a minute or two, then serve!

I accompanied the grilled swordfish and pepper slaw with roasted shallots and brussel sprouts. Dinner with the roomie was a hit! Heart healthy, low-cal and super easy, I will definitely be making this again!

What do you think? Leave a comment

