Pot Roast, a la hangover cure? Yes.

I woke up tired today. It didn’t help that my parents called at 9:30am on a Sunday morning. I swear they like to screw with me when they know I’ve been out the night before, inevitably, drinking too much and probably out too late. Whatever, I’m 27, it’s what I do.  Anyway, I’ve had a hankering to make a pot roast recently and given my previous night’s activities; I also wake up craving salt.  I received a beautiful dutch oven for Christmas that has only been used once, so it’s been staring at me to heat it up.

I headed out to Whole Foods this morning around 11am with my shopping list. First stop, the coffee counter. Carmel Latte stat! I need to get goin…and I absolutely love their coffee.  I’m in a good mood, not too hungover, and excited that I get to cook in my own kitchen today, alone, for myself, and without 3lbs of butter. It’s been awhile since I’ve cooked in my own kitchen so this is going to be fun!  Second stop, the butcher, 3lbs of boneless beef chuck please!  I gather my aromatic veggies, some canned plum tomatoes, good chicken stock, a bottle or Merlot and head home.

I drew inspiration for this pot roast from Ina, Mark Bittman, and Martha Stewart, but I decided not to follow any of there exact recipes. It’s a pot roast, and I feel pretty confident I can whip this together on my own. Here’s my version:

Recipe:

3 lb boneless beef chuck, seasoned w s/p, dredged in flour. Tie if necessary

2 cup yellow onion, chopped

1 cup carrots, chopped
1 cup leeks, chopped
1 cup celery, chopped
3 garlic cloves, smashed and rough chopped
1 12 oz can good plum tomatoes in puree
1 cup merlot (burgundy is preferred but I did not have any)
3/4 cup chicken stock
1 chicken bouillon cube
1 pc bouquet garni– thyme and rosemary tied.
1 tbsp unsalted butter
4 tbsp olive oil
1/4 cup flour
Method:

Preheat oven to 325*F
Turn on music, today Band of Horses is cooking with me.

1. Let the meat sit at room temp for a bit, about 30 minutes, season with and S & P and dredge in flour just before you start to sear.
2. In the meantime, wash and prep the vegetables. The leeks need to be cut and soaked in water to get all the dirt out. (Leeks are riddled with dirt, so this step is important)  Carrots, onions, celery should be cut medium dice.
3. Crush and rough chop garlic.
4. In a dutch oven or large stock pot, heat 2 tbsp of olive oil over med-high heat.  Start searing meat one side at a time, roughly 2-4 minutes of each side. Do this for all sides. Once seared, set aside on a plate.
5. In the dutch oven, heat 2 tbsp of olive oil, add leeks, carrots, onions, celery and garlic. Cook about 10-15 minutes or until translucent.
6. Add 1 cup of red wine and bring to a boil. Then add chicken stock, chicken bouillon, 1 can of plum tomatoes with puree- roughly chopped, 1 tsp of salt and 1.5 tsp pepper.
7. Place the roast back into the pot, bring to a boil, add bouquet garni of thyme and rosemary, cover and place in the oven for 2.5 hours. After 2.5 hours, reduce heat to 250*F and cook for another hour or so until roast is fork tender.  The slower and lower you cook it, the more tender the meat will be. 

When the roasting is finished, remove the meat, and set aside.  In a food processor roughly puree half of the liquid and veggies, then pour this back into the dutch oven. To thicken the sauce mixture of pureed and soften vegetables add a buerre manie. A tablespoon or two of this should do the trick and thicken the sauce a bit.

To serve, slice the meat and and serve with warm sauce over top. This could also be accompanied with a pilaf, pasta of some sort, or vegetable.

I plated the roast on top a bed of couscous, delish!
Bon appetit!
2 responses

  1. >Love the Williams cookbook holder in pic #2. Yours looks so handy I just may have to get one for myself after we move. Wish I were at Bourdain's event with you! And funny you just made a roast, Art and I made one last week with a Dutch oven that had been unused too. Can't wait for the next bedtime read. :) haha, so funny I've turned your blog into a once or twice a month nighttime read.

What do you think? Leave a comment

